top of page


People - Energy Storage - Fuel Cell - Battery Technology - Virtual Grid


Dr Rahman Daiyan and Dr Emma Lovell have developed a new process with a cheap and abundant zinc oxide catalyst that can transform waste carbon dioxide to syngas - a building block for creating diesel, methanol, alcohol or plastics, all high demand feed-stock for industry.

This research is just one of the projects within the Hub's Power-to-gas theme lead by Professor Rose Amal, Find out more about this inspiring research in the UNSW Newsroom article " Engineers find neat way to turn waste carbon dioxide into useful material" or read the Abstract for their paper in Advanced Energy Materials.

Updated: Mar 18, 2020


The Hub is proud to be one of the co-hosts of the 4th Energy Future Conference and Exhibition, to be held from 27 to 29 May 2020 in Colombo Theatre at UNSW. The conference brings together scientist, engineers, academia, investors, industry, and policymakers to discuss the latest advances in energy technology and re-think business-as-usual to develop a new economy based on untapped resources including renewables.

With dedicated spaces for academics, early career researchers and new international networks, the conference will also be hosting a special Innovation in Energy Industry Day, where industry and academics will explore the question "Hydrogen: Should Australia pursue a future as a bulk export superpower?"

See the conference website for more information or to register:

Updated: Mar 3, 2020

The Hub was launched at a ceremony at UNSW on Thursday 20th February 2020 by the Federal Minister for Education, the Hon. Dan Tehan, who joined a group of researchers and Hub partners on a tour of the world-class facilities, including the Particles and Catalysis Research Laboratory and rooftop solar energy facilities.

Special guests at the launch included the CEO of the Australian Research Council, Professor Sue Thomas; UNSW President and Vice-Chancellor, Professor Ian Jacobs; Deputy Vice Chancellor for Research, Professor Nicholas Fisk; and Hub Director and Professor of Energy Systems, Joe Dong.

“What this Integrated Energy Storage Solutions Hub will embark on is absolutely vital to our nation’s future,” Minister Tehan said.

Read more at the UNSW Newsroom

bottom of page